How can I score full marks in the JEE Advanced? I’m solving all the questions from at least 4-5 books per subject. Should I use more books?

Student Rejoicing

Student rejoicing her success!

That’s a lofty target you’ve set yourself. Perhaps, you are used to achieving such scores in your school and Board exams and, hence, you want to emulate the feat. Therefore, first of all, please get out of the ‘Board’ mindset and try and achieve the best you can. In order to understand what is involved in JEE prep, I would suggest that you go through

  1. Where can you go wrong while preparing for the JEE Advanced?
  2. Board vs JEE Preps

Besides, if you set such targets, you are putting yourself under a lot of pressure which will only compromise your performance.

Next, it seems you are solving questions from a lot of books. Not all questions from a book are worth solving and you, probably, are wasting a lot of time solving questions that are really not worth your time. JEE prep is not just about practice but it is all about smart practice that continuously enhances your skills. I have explained this in

  1. Is memorisation necessary in JEE prep? Also, what is smart work? Please give examples.
  2. Books for JEE prep

Now, as per your question, you want to practice from some more books. The questions in the JEE are brand new ones and not the ones that you see in any text book, as is the case in Board exams. Therefore, I’d like to know what purpose will your solving from more books serve?

All I can say is that you are chasing a mirage by aiming for a perfect score in the Advanced. Just try and be the best you can. In fact, after a certain point, spending more time on any particular subject is counter productive. Your cause would be better served if you spend the same time on another subject since the returns in terms of marks scored per unit time would be better with such a strategy.

If you found this post helpful, please don’t forget to like/share it. Also, if you have a specific query, we are available for a consultation. You can contact us in two ways:

  1. You can email us through Contact OR
  2. You can Inbox your query on our fb page, Mentoring JEE Aspirants.

All the best!

2 thoughts on “How can I score full marks in the JEE Advanced? I’m solving all the questions from at least 4-5 books per subject. Should I use more books?

  1. venugopalangovindan says:

    Hi

    This comment is not related directly this particular post but about this blog in general and the related mentoring and guidance service being done by Dr Jagruti and Mr Rasesh Chasmawala.

    I find my utter insufficiency in communication when I try to express my thanks for the yeomen service that is being done by them to the many many parents like me who want to chart a happy and successful path to their aspiring children, who are passionate in their scientific quest.

    Thanks a ton Sir & Madam

    G.Venugopalan
    Coimbatore

    Like

Leave a comment